> ITA Tennis Homepage > About ITA > News > 2016 ITA Division III National Men's Team Indoor Championship Starts Friday

DIII Men's Team Indoors Preview Graphic-2016-02-18

– The 2016 ITA Division III National Men’s Team Indoor Championship returns to Cleveland, Ohio, and the Cleveland Racquet Club, as Case Western Reserve serves as event host for the second time in the past three years. The eight-team tournament gets underway Friday, Feb. 19, and runs through Sunday, Feb. 21.

To view live scoring and video, updated draws, box scores, daily recaps and photo galleries, head to the Division III Men’s Team Indoor Championship event page. You can also follow along with the event on Twitter at @ITATennis, using the hashtag #ITAIndoors.

Trinity (TX) is the defending champion at the #ITAIndoors, having won its first title last year with a 5-4 victory over Emory in the final. Six of the eight teams from the 2015 championship return in 2016, with Trinity (TX) joined by the host Case Western Reserve, Carnegie Mellon, Emory, Kenyon and Washington University-St. Louis. Filling out the 2016 field are Chicago and Pomona-Pitzer.

All eight teams are well-represented in the Oracle/ITA Collegiate Tennis Division III Men’s National Team Rankings, with six populating the Top 10 and all within the Top 15. Washington University-St. Louis is the highest-ranked team at No. 3, followed by Pomona-Pitzer (No. 4); Emory (No. 5); Chicago (No. 6); Trinity (TX) (No. 8); Kenyon (No. 10); Carnegie Mellon (No. 11) and Case Western Reserve (No. 14).

Division III #ITAIndoors Notes
-Trinity (TX) also won the #ITAIndoors Sportsmanship Award in 2015.
-Trinity (TX)’s Adam Krull and Matt Tyer won the 2015 Division III men’s doubles National Small College Championships title (def. Sewanee, 6-1, 6-1).
-Rafe Mosetick (Emory) lost to No. 1 Noah Farrell (Middlebury) in 2015 NSCC singles final.
-Paxton Deuel (Trinity) and Nicolas Chua (Chicago) both lost first round of NSCC singles play.
-Chicago and Washington University-St. Louis were 2015 NCAA DIII team semifinalists.

About the ITA Division III National Men's Team Indoor Championship
The ITA Division III National Men's Team Indoor Championship is held annually each February. The men's event began in 2001 and will be held for the 16th time in 2016. The event features eight participating teams and is held over three days, beginning on Friday with the quarterfinals, followed by semifinals on Saturday and the final on Sunday. Four different schools have hosted the event, while Emory (5), Gustavus Adolphus (4), UC Santa Cruz (3), Kenyon (1), Washington-St. Louis (1) and Trinity (TX) (1) are past champions.