> ITA Tennis Homepage > About ITA > News > 2016 ITA Division I National Men's Team Indoor Championship Set To Begin Friday

Division I Men's Team National Indoors 2016 Preview Graphic-2016-02-09

– Sixteen of the top Division I men’s tennis teams will meet up in Charlottesville, Virginia, to compete for the 2016 Intercollegiate Tennis Association National Men’s Team Indoor Championship. Defending NCAA National Champion, the University of Virginia, will serve as the event host, with all competition over the four-day event (Feb. 12-15) scheduled to take place at Boar’s Head Sports Club.

The ITA Division I National Men’s Team Indoor Championship dates back to 1973. Stanford owns the most #ITAIndoors titles with 12, followed by UCLA with seven and the host Cavaliers with five championships.

For updated draws, complete results, live scoring and video links, daily recaps and photo galleries, head to the #ITAIndoors Championship Central page here. On social media, be sure to follow @ITATennis on Twitter and use the hashtag #ITAIndoors when tweeting about the event. You can also check out @ITA_Tennis on Instagram and on Facebook.

Thirteen of the 15 No. 1 seeds in the 2016 ITA Kick-Off Weekend advanced to the National Team Indoor Championship. By virtue of hosting the #ITAIndoors, Virginia garnered an automatic bid into the event and did not have to participate in the 2016 ITA Kick-Off Weekend.

The Big 12 has the most teams at the #ITAIndoors per conference with four, including defending #ITAIndoors champions, Oklahoma. Joining the host Cavaliers to compete for the lone team-based ITA national title are: Oklahoma, Baylor, TCU, Texas Tech, Wake Forest, North Carolina, Georgia, Texas A&M, Ohio State, Illinois, USC, UCLA, San Diego, South Florida and Columbia.

The seeds in the #ITAIndoors field were determined based off of an unpublished ranking conducted by the National Ranking Committee earlier in the week. Virginia is the No. 1 seed and Texas A&M is the No. 2 seed. North Carolina is seeded third, followed by USC at No. 4 and TCU at No. 5. Rounding out the Top 8 are Ohio State (No. 6), UCLA (No. 7) and Oklahoma (No. 8).

#ITAIndoors First Round Matches
No. 1 Virginia vs. No. 16 San Diego, 6:30 p.m. ET
No. 8 Oklahoma vs. No. 9 Wake Forest, 6:30 p.m. ET
No. 4 USC vs. No. 13 South Florida, 3:30 p.m. ET
No. 5 TCU vs. No. 12 Illinois, 3:30 p.m. ET
No. 6 Ohio State vs. No. 11 Baylor, 9 a.m. ET
No. 3 North Carolina vs. No. 14 Texas Tech, 9 a.m. ET
No. 7 UCLA vs. No. 10 Georgia, 12 p.m. ET
No. 2 Texas A&M vs. No. 15 Columbia, 12 p.m. ET

#ITAIndoors Men’s Qualifiers By Conference
Big 12 (4)
= Oklahoma; Baylor; TCU; Texas Tech
ACC (3) = Virginia; North Carolina; Wake Forest
SEC (2) = Georgia; Texas A&M
Big Ten (2) = Ohio State; Illinois
Pac-12 (2) = USC; UCLA
WCC (1) = San Diego
American (1) = South Florid
Ivy (1) = Columbia