> ITA Tennis Homepage > About ITA > News > 2017 ITA Division III National Women's Team Indoor Championship Begins On Friday

DIII Women's National Indoors Preview-2017-03-02

TEMPE, Ariz. –
The 2017 ITA Division III National Women’s Team Indoor Championship begins on Friday, March 3, from the Adams Tennis Complex in Murfreesboro, Tennessee, with Sewanee: The University of the South serving as event host. The eight-team tournament runs through Sunday, March 5.

For updated draws, results, live scoring and video, daily video highlights and photo galleries, head to the Division I Men’s National Indoors event page. On social media, be sure to follow @ITA_Tennis on Twitter and Instagram and use the hashtag #ITAIndoors to join the conversation. FloTennis will be on site providing live streaming coverage of all three days of competition. FloTennis is a subscription-based service with monthly and annual rate options. To sign up and view the live stream, click here.

Pomona-Pitzer is the defending #ITAIndoors champion, and with a current Oracle/ITA Collegiate Tennis National Team Ranking of No. 6, are one of three teams competing ranked in the Top 10. Emory, the defending NCAA Division III champion, is the No. 1-ranked team and top seed in the draw, while Chicago is ranked No. 10 and the No. 3 seed.

All teams competing at #ITAIndoors are ranked in the Top 15, with Washington University in St. Louis (No. 11), Carnegie Mellon (No. 12), Sewanee (No. 13), Johns Hopkins (No. 14) and Mary Washington (No. 15) rounding out the field.

Friday’s first round begins at 8:30 a.m. CST, with No. 4 Washington University in St. Louis taking on No. 5 Carnegie Mellon. At 11:30 a.m., No. 2 Pomona-Pitzer faces No. 7 Johns Hopkins, and at 2 p.m., it’ll be No. 3 Chicago versus No. 6 Sewanee. Closing out the opening round at 4:30 p.m. is No. 1 Emory against No. 8 Mary Washington.

Saturday will feature the two semifinal matches (12 and 3:30 p.m.), in addition to two rounds of consolation play. On the final day of competition, the third-place match will begin at 8:30 a.m., with the championship scheduled for 11:15 a.m. All teams in the #ITAIndoors draw are guaranteed three matches.