> ITA Tennis Homepage > About ITA > News > 2018 ITA Division I National Women's Team Indoor Championship Set To Begin Friday

DI Women's National Team Indoors Scroll-2018-02-06


TEMPE, Ariz. –
For the 25th time in tournament history, the University of Wisconsin will serve as host to one of the biggest collegiate tennis tournaments of the year, the ITA Division I National Women’s Team Indoor Championship.

Sixteen of the top Division I women’s teams will compete at the Nielsen Tennis Stadium in Madison, Wisconsin, vying for a team indoor national championship. The four-day event begins on Friday, February 9, and concludes on Monday, February 12. The University of Florida Gators are the defending National Team Indoors champion, having defeated North Carolina 4-2 in the 2017 final. The Gators would go on to claim the NCAA Championship in 2017 as well.

The ITA Division I National Women’s Team Indoor Championship is in its 31st year of existence. Fifteen teams qualified for the event by winning their respective 2018 ITA Kick-Off Weekend four-team regional, while Wisconsin received an automatic bid as the host site. The teams will compete in a single-elimination tournament over a four-day span to crown a national indoor champion. Each team is guaranteed three matches at the event.

The top eight seeds in the National Women’s Team Indoor Championship field were determined based on an unpublished ranking conducted by the National Ranking Committee. The remaining eight teams were placed into the draw by random selection. Teams were moved to avoid playing opponents in the first round already on their respective regular-season schedules.

Stanford holds the most ITA Division I National Women’s Team Indoor Championship titles with 10, followed by Florida with seven and Georgia with three. North Carolina has reached the finals of the Team Indoor Championship each of the last three years and took home the title in 2015.

For updated draws, results, live scoring and video, daily video highlights and photo galleries, head to the Division I Women’s National Indoors event page. On social media, be sure to follow @ITA_Tennis on Twitter and Instagram and use the hashtag #ITAIndoors to join the conversation.

#ITAIndoors First Round Matches
No. 1 Vanderbilt vs. Wake Forest – 6:30 p.m. (Courts 7-12)
No. 8 Florida vs. Wisconsin – 6:30 p.m. (Courts 1-6)
No. 5 Georgia Tech vs. Michigan – 3:30 p.m. (Courts 1-6)
No. 4 Pepperdine vs. Auburn – 3:30 p.m. (Courts 7-12)
No. 3 North Carolina vs. Ole Miss – 12 p.m. (Courts 7-12)
No. 6 Texas Tech vs. UCLA – 12 p.m. (Courts 1-6)
No. 7 Duke vs. South Carolina – 9 a.m. (Courts 1-6)
No. 2 Georgia vs. Texas – 9 a.m. (Courts 7-12)

#ITAIndoors Women’s Qualifiers By Conference
SEC (6) – Auburn; Florida; Georgia; Ole Miss; South Carolina; Vanderbilt
ACC (4) – Duke; Georgia Tech; North Carolina; Wake Forest
Big 12 (2) – Texas; Texas Tech
Big Ten (1) – Michigan 
Pac-12 (1) – UCLA
West Coast Conference (1) – Pepperdine

#ITAIndoors Women’s Qualifiers By #ITAKickOff Seeds
No. 1 (11) – Auburn; Duke; Florida; Georgia; Georgia Tech; Michigan; North Carolina; Pepperdine; South Carolina; Texas Tech; Vanderbilt
No. 2 (1) – UCLA
No. 3 (3) – Ole Miss; Texas; Wake Forest

Wisconsin received an automatic bid due to serving as the host site for the 2018 Women’s #ITAIndoors