> ITA Tennis Homepage > About ITA > News > 2018 ITA Division I National Women's Team Indoor Championship Sports Interiors All-Tournament Team Announced

2018 DI Women's #ITAIndoors All-Tournament Team-2018-02-15

TEMPE, Ariz. –
The 2018 ITA Division I National Women’s Team Indoor Championship Sports Interiors All-Tournament Team and Most Outstanding Player were announced on Thursday, as voted on by the 16 participating head coaches.

2018 ITA All-Tournament Team – Singles
No. 1 Singles: Ashley Lahey, Sophomore, Pepperdine
#OracleITARanking: No. 27
#ITAIndoors Record: 3-0
DNF Jaeda Daniel (Auburn) 7-5, 3-6, 2-5
Def. Paige Hourigan (Georgia Tech) 1-6, 7-6 (2), 6-2
Def. Astra Sharma (Vanderbilt) 7-5, 6-7 (3), 6-1
Def. Alle Sanford (North Carolina) 7-5, 4-6, 6-3

No. 2 Singles: Sara Daavettila, Sophomore, North Carolina
#OracleITARanking: No. 52
#ITAIndoors Record: 4-0 (2-0 at No. 2 singles)
*Def. Kaitlyn McCarthy (Duke) 6-2, 6-2
*Def. Mayar Sherif (Pepperdine) 7-5, 6-2
Def. Sabina Machalova (Ole Miss) 6-2, 3-6, 6-1
Def. Sabrina Federici (Texas Tech) 6-3, 6-4

No. 3 Singles: Christina Rosca, Sophomore, Vanderbilt
#OracleITARanking: No. 19
#ITAIndoors Record: 3-0
Def. Chandler Carter (Wake Forest) 6-1, 6-1
Def. McCartney Kessler (Florida) 1-6, 6-3, 6-1
Def. Evvgeniya Levashova (Pepperdine) 6-3, 6-4

No. 4 Singles: Alexa Graham, Sophomore, North Carolina
#OracleITARanking: No. 78
#ITAIndoors Record: 4-0 (2-0 at No. 4 singles)
*Def. Ellyse Hamlin (Duke) 7-6 (3), 6-1
*Def. Laura Gulbe (Pepperdine) 6-4, 6-3
Def. Alexa Bortles (Ole Miss) 6-2, 6-2
Def. Sarah Dvorak (Texas Tech) 6-0, 6-1

No. 5 Singles: Meible Chi, Sophomore, Duke
#OracleITARanking: No. 106
#ITAIndoors Record: 3-0
Def. Megan Davies (South Carolina) 6-2, 6-2
Def. Morgan Coppoc (Georgia) 6-4, 7-5
Def. Jessie Aney (North Carolina) 6-2, 6-4

No. 6 Singles: Amanda Meyer, Freshman, Vanderbilt
#OracleITARanking: NR
#ITAIndoors Record: 3-0
Def. Mary Caroline Meredith (Wake Forest) 6-4, 6-1
Def. Katie Kubicz (Florida) 6-4, 6-4
Def. Adrijana Lekaj (Pepperdine) 6-2, 7-6 (3)

2018 ITA All-Tournament Team – Doubles
No. 1 Doubles: Jessie Aney, Junior / Alexa Graham, Sophomore – North Carolina
#OracleITARanking: No. 30
#ITAIndoors Record: 3-1
Loss Arianne Hartono/Alexa Bortles (Ole Miss) 6-3
Def. Sarah Dvorak/Sabrina Federici (Texas Tech) 6-4
Def. Samantha Harris/Kelly Chen (Duke) 6-4
Def. Mayar Sherif/Ashley Lahey (Pepperdine) 7-5

No. 2 Doubles: Mariana Gould, Senior / Katarina Jokic, Freshman – Georgia
#OracleITARanking: No. 18
#ITAIndoors Record: 3-0
Def. Marta Perez-Mur/Bianca Turati (Texas) 6-1
Def. Ellyse Hamlin/Kaitlyn McCarthy (Duke) 6-3
Def. Gabriela Talaba/Felicity Maltby (Texas Tech) 6-4

No. 3 Doubles: Amanda Meyer, Freshman / Christina Rosca, Sophomore – Vanderbilt
#OracleITARanking: NR
#ITAIndoors Record: 2-0
Def. Mary Caroline Meredith/Alexis Franco (Wake Forest) 6-4
DNF Peggy Porter/Katie Kubicz (Florida) 5-5
Def. Adrijana Lekaj/Laura Gulbe (Pepperdine) 6-1

#ITAIndoors Most Outstanding Player – Sara Daavettila, Sophomore, North Carolina

In addition to being named to the All-Tournament Team, North Carolina’s Daavettila was chosen as the tournament’s Most Outstanding Player.

A sophomore, Daavettila is currently ranked No. 52 in the nation in singles. She won all four of her matches at #ITAIndoors; two at No. 2 singles and two at No. 3 singles. Daavettila clinched North Carolina’s victories over Ole Miss (4-2 in opening round) and Texas Tech (4-1 in quarterfinals), as well as providing crucial points in the semifinal (4-1 win against Duke) and championship (4-2 versus Pepperdine) matches. Teaming with Alle Sanford, Daavettila posted a 3-1 mark in doubles at the No. 2 position.

This year marks the 11th annual ITA Division I National Women's Team Indoor All-Tournament Team. The voting panel is comprised of the 16 participating team head coaches. Past winners of the Most Outstanding Player award are: Kristen Flower, Georgia Tech (2008); Chelsey Gullickson, Georgia (2009); Maria Mosolova, Northwestern (2010); Hilary Barte, Stanford (2011); Robin Anderson, UCLA (2012); Whitney Kay, North Carolina (2013); Hanna Mar, Duke (2014); Caroline Price, North Carolina (2015); Olivia Hauger, California (2016) and Ingrid Neel, Florida (2017).
About the ITA Division I National Women's Team Indoor Championship
The ITA Division I National Women's Team Indoor Championship is held annually each February and was inaugurated in 1988. The tournament features 16 participating teams: the 15 schools who won both of their matches during the 2018 ITA Kick-Off Weekend, and the host site school. The tournament is held over four days and begins on Friday with first round play, followed by quarterfinals on Saturday, semifinals on Sunday and the final on Monday.