> ITA Tennis Homepage > About ITA > News > Archived News > 2008 News Archives > ITA Women's Hall of Fame Inducts Four New Members

Skillman, N.J. — The Intercollegiate Tennis Association (ITA) Women's Hall of Fame inducted four new members during a ceremony held Friday, Sept. 19 at the Sadler Center at the College of William and Mary.
The ITA Women's Hall of Fame was established in 1995 and honors outstanding collegiate players and coaches, as well as players who attended college and later had a significant impact on women's tennis. The Hall of Fame is located at the College of William and Mary's McCormack-Nagelsen Tennis Center.
The Class of 2008 consists of four former players including doubles legend Gigi Fernandez, an All-American in her freshman year at Clemson University, among this year's inductees to the ITA Women's Hall of Fame. Also honored at the Sept. 19 ceremony will be Janice Metcalf Cromer of the University of Redlands, winner of the women's intercollegiate singles title in 1972 and '73; Alice Tym of the University of Miami, an internationally ranked player in the 1960s and head coach at the University of Tennessee-Chattanooga and Yale University; and Wendy White Prausa of Rollins College, a 12-year touring pro and intercollegiate champion in 1980.
Beatriz "Gigi" Fernandez won 17 Grand Slam doubles titles and two Olympic gold medals during her pro career from 1983 to 1997. Recruited to Clemson from her native Puerto Rico, she reached the national intercollegiate singles finals in her freshman year and then joined the professional circuit. She captured 69 doubles titles overall, and reached as high as No. 17 in the singles rankings.                                         
Janice Metcalf Cromer holds the distinction of being the first woman to play on the men's team at the University of Redlands, helping lead them to the NAIA national championships in 1973 and '74. Two-time national intercollegiate singles champion, Metcalf also captured six other national titles while in college, including three straight USTA Amateur Clay Court championships from 1971–73.
Alice Luthy Tym established the women's tennis team and served as its captain while an undergraduate at the University of Florida from 1960–64. A Ford Foundation fellow, she received Phi Beta Kappa honors and earned an M.A. from UF in geography in 1966.
From 1964 to 1970, she played on the international circuit, winning titles on five continents and securing a world ranking as high as No. 13 in 1969. 
Wendy White Prausa is the only women's tennis player to turn pro during college and graduate on time. A standout junior player in her native Georgia, White was awarded the USTA's Girls' Sportsmanship Trophy in 1978. As a Rollins sophomore in 1980, she captured the intercollegiate singles title and won the Broderick Award as National Female Collegiate Athlete of the Year in Tennis. Joining the professional tour in the summer of 1980, she rose as high as No. 22 in singles and No. 18 in doubles. 

# # #

Gigi Fernandez

Janice Metcalf Cromer

Alice Luthy Tym

Wendy White Prausa