> ITA Tennis Homepage > About ITA > News > Archived News > 2009 News Archive > ITA/USTA National Summer Championships to Begin Saturday, August 8th

ITA/USTA National Summer Championships to Begin Saturday

Record 2,976 players participated in circuit events in '09 

BLOOMINGTON, Ind. - The ITA/USTA National Summer Championships begin this Saturday, August 8th at the Indiana University Varsity Tennis Center.

The ITA/USTA National Summer Championships are the pinnacle of the ITA Collegiate Summer Circuit, which was played at 27 regional sites throughout the country last month. A record 2,976 players participated in ITA Summer Circuit events this year.

Over 25,000 men and women have competed in circuit events since it began in 1993. The circuit is the brainchild of Indiana head women's tennis coach Lin Loring and provides college tennis players the opportunity to compete in organized events virtually year round. It is made up of seven regional circuits (East, Southeast, Midwest, Central, Mountain, Southwest and West) and each region consists of four consecutive tournaments played during the month of July, leading up to the ITA/USTA National Summer Championships, August 8-12.

This week's top four men's seeds are: Alex Clayton (Stanford), Lee Singer (Virginia), Shuhei Uzawa (Ohio State), and Kallim Stewart (UCLA). The top four women's seeds are: Kristy Frilling (Notre Dame), Jackie Wu (Vanderbilt), Jennifer Stevens (Virginia), and Kirsten Flower (Ohio State).

The singles and doubles champions from the ITA/USTA National Summer Championships earn wild cards into the first national tournaments of the 2009-10 collegiate tennis season - the D'Novo Men's and Riviera/ITA Women's All-American Championships in early October.

The ITA/USTA National Summer Championships include men’s and women’s singles and doubles. Ragini Acharya from William & Mary and Sanam Singh from Virginia captured last year's singles titles in Bloomington. Past tournament finalists include current touring pros: Amer Delic (Illinois), Julie Ditty (Vanderbilt), Jennifer Russell (Purdue), K.J. Hippensteel (Stanford), Jim Thomas (Stanford) and Brian Vahaly (Virginia).

This is the eighth straight year IU is serving as tournament host (admission is free). IU assistant women's tennis coach Ramiro Azcui is serving as tournament director.

Draws and start times for Saturday's opening round matches will be available on the IU and ITA websites at 
www.iuhoosiers.com and  www.itatennis.com  on Friday.