2011 ITA All-Tournament Team announced for ITA National Men's Team Indoor Championship

2011 ITA All-Tournament Team announced for 
ITA National Men's Team Indoor Championship

Virginia's Domijan voted Most Outstanding Player

SKILLMAN, N.J. - University of Virginia freshman, Alex Domijan was voted the Most Outstanding Player of the 2011 ITA National Men's Team Indoor Championship after leading the Cavaliers to an unprecedented fourth consecutive ITA National Men's Team Indoor title by posting a 4-0 record at No. 2 singles. The 4-0 shutout over third-seeded Tennessee was a rematch from last year's final, in which UVA won 4-1.

Alex Domijan, University of Virginia - No. 2 Singles (4-0)

def. #42 Kyle McMorrow (Washington), 6-3, 7-5
def. Johnny Hamui (Illinois), 6-3, 6-3
def. #21 Chase Buchanan (Ohio State), 6-4-6-3
def. #17 John-Patrick Smith (Tennessee), 6-2, 6-4

Domijan's wins over Buchanan and Smith came against players who earned ITA All-America honors in 2010, and his win over Smith clinched the championship match against Tennessee. The second-ranked player in the nation also teamed in doubles with Michael Shabaz for the first time. The new duo went 3-1 at No. 1, including wins over the No. 6 and No. 24 ranked teams.

Domijan was the top American junior player entering the collegiate ranks in the fall. He followed up by becoming just the third freshman in the 32-year history of the D'Novo/ITA All-American Championships to win the singles title.


Domijan is joined on the All-Tournament Team by the following players and doubles teams:

2011 ITA National Men's Team Indoor Championships All-Tournament Team


No. 1 - Michael Shabaz, Virginia 
No. 2 - Alex Domijan, Virginia
No. 3 - Sanam Singh, Virginia
No. 4 - Jarmere Jenkins, Virginia
No. 5 - Devin McCarthy, Ohio State
No. 6 - Balasz Novak, Ohio State

No. 1 - Boris Conkic/J.P. Smith, Tennessee 
No. 2 - Kellen Damico/David Holiner, Texas 
No. 3 - Drew Courtney/Steven Rooda, Virginia

This is the fourth annual ITA National Men's Team Indoor All-Tournament Team. Voters for the team included the 16 participating coaches.

During Virginia's four-year reign as ITA National Men's Team Indoor Champion, three other Cavaliers have joined Domijan in receiving the prestigious Most Outstanding Player award, including current teammates Sanam Singh (2009) and Michael Shabaz (2010). In 2008, two-time ITA National Player of the Year, Somdev Devvarman, was also honored with the team tournament's top individual award. 

For the ITA Women's All-Tournament Team, please click here.

Additional Information