No. 1 Emory takes on No. 3 Washington in a 2009 Finals Rematch 

FREDERICKSBURG, VA - The finals have been set for the eight teams competing in the 2011 ITA National Division III Men's Team Indoor Championship hosted by the University of Mary Washington. After three of the top four seeds advanced with quarterfinal victories yesterday, top-seeded Emory nearly recorded a shutout semifinal victory over fifth-seeded Carnegie Mellon, while Washington University avenged a loss to UC-Santa Cruz in a rematch from last year' championship match to advance to tomorrow's finals.


The two University Athletic Association (UAA) rivals, who have quite a history against one another in the annual ITA Division III event, will be matching up for the fourth consecutive  year. In 2008 and 2010, Washington U. defeated Emory, 7-2, and 5-4 respectively in the third-place match, while Emory posted a 6-3 victory in the national championship match in 2009, capturing their third title in the 11 year-history of the event. The Bears from St. Louis, who are still seeking their first crown, would probably prefer it come at no other opponent than their long-time rivals from the Atlanta area. 

ITA Division III National Men's Team Indoor Championship: Finals

#1 Emory vs. #3 Washington University


ITA Division III National Men's Team Indoor Championship: Semifinals

#1 Emory 8, #5 Carnegie Mellon 1
#3 Washington University 5, #2 UC-Santa Cruz 4

ITA Division III National Men's Team Indoor Championship: First Round

#1 Emory 8, #8 Mary Washington 1

 #5 Carnegie Mellon 5, #4 Cal Lutheran 4

#3 Washington University 8, #6 NC Wesleyan 1

#2 UC-Santa Cruz 6, #7 Trinity 3


More on the Finalists

#1 EMORY: The No. 4-ranked Emory men's tennis team has earned a spot in the championship match after recording a decisive win over Carnegie Mellon University in today's semifinals.  The Eagles raised their spring dual mark to 6-1 following an 8-1 triumph over the Tartans. For the second straight day, the Eagles held a 3-0 lead after sweeping the doubles portion of the match.  Emory's No. 1 tandem of Chris Goodwin and Will Humphreys came through with an 8-6 triumph over CMU's Bobby McTaggart and Sam Wichlin, raising their spring record to 6-1, while the No. 2 duo of Eric Rothschild and Alex Chun notched an 8-4 verdict over Jeremy King and Alex Nemerov.  At the No. 3 slot, senior Colin Egan and junior Dillon Pottish continued their solid play by breezing past Mason Radford and Jooho Yu, 8-0. Emory captured five singles points, highlighted by Pottish's effort at No. 1 where he bettered Nemerov, 6-0, 6-2, boosting his dual mark to 7-0.  Goodwin manufactured a 6-2, 6-0 triumph against MacTaggart at the No. 2 slot while freshman Nick Szczurek continued to impress with a 6-2, 6-1 victory against Harsha Rao at No. 4. With Emory up 8-0 and looking for the rare semifinal shutout win, Rothschild put the Eagles on the verge of accomplishing the feat by taking the first set in a tiebreaker. Yu would not back down and fought hard to claim a point for the Tartans, taking the second set 6-4. Yu's determination would prevail in the end and prevent the shutout against their fellow UAA rival.

First Round Matchup: No. 1 Emory 8, No. 8 Mary Washington 1
Semifinal Matchup: No. 1 Emory 8 vs. No. 5 Carnegie Mellon 1
Finals Matchup: No. 1 Emory vs. No. 3 Washington


1. Goodwin/Humphrys (EU) def. MacTaggart/Miller (CMU), 8-6
2. Chun/Rothschild (EU) def. King/Nemerov (CMU), 8-4
3. Egan/Pottish (EU) def. Rao/Yu (CMU), 8-0

1. Dillon Pottish (EU) def. Alex Nemerov (CMU), 6-0, 6-2
2. Chris Goodwin (EU) def. Bobby MacTaggart (CMU), 6-2, 6-0
3. Colin Egan (EU) def. Duke Miller (CMU), (winner by injury default)      
4. Nick Szczurek (EU) def. Harsha Rao (CMU), 6-2, 6-1
5. Simon LaPerusse (EU) def. Jeremy King (CMU), 6-0, 6-1
6. Jooho Yu (CMU) def. Eric Rothschild (EU), 6-7 [3], 6-4, 11-9



#3 WASHINGTON (MO): In a rematch of the 2010 ITA National Indoor Championship, the No. 6 ranked Washington University in St. Louis men's tennis team rallied for a 5-4 victory over No. 5 ranked University of California-Santa Cruz. Sophomore Gary Parizher clinched the match for Washington University, holding on for a 7-6, 1-6, 6-1 victory over Andrea Halabi at No. 4 singles.Washington University, which has won four-straight matches over ranked opponents, continued its consistent doubles play by winning two of three matches to build a 2-1 lead heading into singles play. Senior Isaac Stein and Max Woods had the biggest win of the day at No. 1 doubles, upsetting the Division III's No. 3 ranked doubles team of Brian Pybas and Parker Larson, 8-2. Just minutes later, junior Cameron Chiang and sophomore Kareem Farah made it 2-0 with a convincing 8-3 victory over Erich Koenig and Sam Rogers at No. 2 doubles. UC-Santa Cruz's Erik Rosner and Ian Stanley trimmed the lead to 2-1 with an 8-6 win over sophomore Adam Putterman and freshman Max Franklin at No. 3. Pybas knotted the match at 2-2 with a 6-2, 7-5 victory over Stein at No. 1 singles, in a battle of top-15 ranked singles players. UC-Santa Cruz took its first lead (3-2) of the match as Koenig posted a 7-6 (7-0), 7-6 (7-5) victory over Woods at No. 2 singles. Koenig entered the match ranked No. 28 in the Campbell/ITA Division III Rankings, while Woods was ranked No. 30. Putterman rebounded from his loss in doubles for a straight-set win (6-4, 7-5) over Parker Larsen at No. 3 singles, tying the match at 3-3. A win by Farah at No. 6 singles (6-1, 6-2) got the lead back for Washington U. with two matches remaining. Washington University is now 4-1 against ranked teams this season and are making their third-straight ITA National Team Indoor Championship appearance.
 First Round Matchup: No. 3 Washington U. 8, No. 6 NC Wesleyan 1

Semifinal Matchup: No. 3 Washington U. 5, No. 2 UC-Santa Cruz 4
Finals Matchup: No. 3 Washington U. vs. No. 1 Emory


1. Stein/Woods (WASHU) def. def. Larsen/Pybas (UCSC), 8-2
2. Chiang/Farah (WASHU) def. def. Koenig/Rogers (UCSC), 8-3
3. Rosner/Stanley (UCSC) def. Franklin/Putterman (WASHU), 8-6

1. Brian Pybas (UCSC) def. Isaac Stein (WASHU), 6-2, 7-5
2. Erich Koenig (UCSC) def. Max Woods (WASHU), 7-6 [0], 7-6 [5]
3. Adam Putterman (WASHU) def. Parker Larsen (UCSC), 6-4, 7-5
4. Gary Parizher (WASHU) def. Andre Halabi (UCSC), 7-6 [3], 1-6, 6-1
5. Sam Rogers (UCSC) def. Bryan Haywood (WASHU) 6-3, 7-6 [6]
 6. Kareem Farah (WASHU) def. Bryce Bettwy (UCSC), 6-1, 6-2

The third place and championship matches will begin at 8:30 a.m. (ET) on Sunday morning. Admission to the event is free of charge and the public is welcome. For complete results and event information, visit

Additional Information