Mary Washington to Host ITA Division III Men's Team Indoor Championship

Mary Washington to Host ITA Division III Men's Team Indoor Championship
Seven of the top-10 ranked programs to compete Feb. 18-20

FREDERICKSBURG, Va. - The University of Mary Washington is set to host the 11th annual ITA National Division III Men's Team Indoor Championship at the University Tennis Center in Fredericksburg, Virginia, February 18-20. Seven of the top-10 teams ranked in the Campbell/ITA College Tennis Rankings square off to determine the 2011 ITA National Men's Team Indoor Champion.

On Friday, February 18, sixth-ranked and third-seeded Washington (MO) University will face ninth-ranked and sixth-seeded North Carolina Wesleyan College, and fifth-ranked and second-seeded UC Santa Cruz will square off against 10th ranked and seventh seeded Trinity University at 9:00 a.m.

The afternoon matches on Friday will see fourth-ranked and top seeded Emory University face host and 22nd ranked Mary Washington, and seventh-ranked and fourth-seeded Cal Lutheran taking on eighth-ranked and fifth seeded Carnegie Mellon University at 3:00 p.m.

The second round will continue on Saturday with winners and losers from Friday playing each other, with the fifth- and seventh-place matches following Saturday night. The championship and third-place matches will be played Sunday morning at 8:30 a.m.  Click here for the tournament draw.

The second-seeded Banana Slugs of UC-Santa Cruz look to defend their 2010 title and tie Gustavus Adolphus for the most titles in event history with four. However, the top-seeded Emory Eagles are also in search of their fourth title crown and first since 2009.  

This will be first time the University of Mary Washington has served as host of the event. For the first time in nine years, the ITA Division III Indoor Championship will be played somewhere other than the Swanson Tennis Center on the campus of Gustavus Adolphus College in St. Peter, Minnesota.

Admission to the event is free of charge and the public is welcome. For complete tournament results and information, please visit

Note: All times are Eastern. 
Additional Information