2009 Finals Rematch Ends in Same Result

FREDERICKSBURG, VA - Top-seeded Emory 
rallied from a 2-0 deficit to 
capture its fourth ITA National Division III Men's Team Indoor title with a with a 6-3 victory over Washington University, which resulted in a repeat 6-3 Emory victory in a finals rematch from the 2009 championship. 

The University of Mary Washington hosted the 11th annual ITA National Division III Men's Team Indoor Championship at the University Tennis Center in Fredericksburg, Virginia, February 18-20. The event featured seven of the top-10 teams ranked in the Campbell/ITA College Tennis Rankings square off to determine the 2011 ITA National Men's Team Indoor Champion.

After three of the top four seeds advanced with quarterfinal victories on day one, top-seeded Emory nearly recorded a shutout semifinal victory over fifth-seeded Carnegie Mellon, while Washington University avenged a loss to UC-Santa Cruz in a rematch from last year' championship match, setting up today's finals.


The two University Athletic Association (UAA) rivals, who have quite a history against one another in the annual ITA Division III event, matched up for the fourth consecutive  year. In 2008 and 2010, Washington U. defeated Emory, 7-2, and 5-4 respectively in the third-place match, while Emory posted a 6-3 victory in the national championship match in 2009, their third title in the 11 year-history of the event.


ITA Division III National Men's Team Indoor Championships: Finals

#1 Emory 6, #3 Washington University 3


ITA Division III National Men's Team Indoor Championships: Semifinals

#1 Emory 8, #5 Carnegie Mellon 1
#3 Washington University 5, #2 UC-Santa Cruz 4

ITA Division III National Men's Team Indoor Championship: First Round

#1 Emory 8, #8 Mary Washington 1

 #5 Carnegie Mellon 5, #4 Cal Lutheran 4

#3 Washington University 8, #6 NC Wesleyan 1

#2 UC-Santa Cruz 6, #7 Trinity 3


Washington U. jumped out quickly to a 2-0 lead following a pair of 8-3 victories at No. 2 and No.3 doubles. Freshman Max Franklin and sophomore Adam Putterman remained unbeaten this season as they rolled past Colin Egan and Dillon Pottish at No. 3, and then minutes later, junior Cameron Chiang and sophomore Kareem Farah posted an identical score over Alex Chun and Eric Rothschild at No. 2 doubles.


Emory, which has only trailed once following doubles play this season, avoided the sweep as the Division III's No. 2 ranked doubles team of Chris Goodwin and Will Humphreys upended Washington University's No. 19 ranked team of seniors Isaac Stein and Max Woods at No. 1, 8-5.

Emory (7-1) took a 3-2 lead by sweeping the top two singles matches. Pottish, the top-ranked player in Division III, improved to 16-1 this season with a 6-4, 6-2 win over No. 12 Stein at No. 1singles. Goodwin, ranked No. 9 in Division III, posted a 6-1, 7-5 win over No. 30 Woods at No. 2 singles, improving his singles record to 9-1.

Junior Dillon Pottish remained undefeated in the spring, raising his record to 8-0, following a 6-4, 6-2 victory over Stein at the No. 1 spot.  At No. 2, junior Chris Goodwin boosted his spring slate to 7-1 with a fine 6-1, 7-5, effort over Woods.   Senior Colin Egan turned in a three-set win at No. 3, topping Adam Putterman, 7-6, 6-7, 6-3, while freshman Nick Szczurek came through with a 6-3, 6-3 verdict over Gary Parizher at No. 4. 

The Eagles extended the advantage to 4-2, as Nick Szczurek posted a straight-set victory (6-3, 6-3) over sophomore Gary Parizher at No. 4 singles before clinching the match and the title following Simon LaPerusse's 4-6, 6-3, 10-5 win over sophomore Bryan Haywood. Farah posted the lone victory for the Bears in singles, a 6-7 (2-7), 6-2, 10-8 win over Rothschild at No. 6.

The Eagles raised their dual record this spring to 7-1 following a 6-3 triumph over the Bears who fell to 4-2.


1. Goodwin/Humphrys (EU) def. Stein/Woods (WASHU), 8-5
2. Chiang/Farah (WASHU) def. Chun/Rothschild (EU), 8-3

3. Franklin/Putterman (WASHU) def. Egan/Pottish (EU), 8-3

1. Dillon Pottish (EU) def. Isaac Stein (WASHU), 6-4, 6-2
2. Chris Goodwin (EU) def. Max Woods (WASHU), 6-1, 7-5
3. Colin Egan (EU) def. Adam Putterman (WASHU), 6-7 [4], 7-6 [4], 6-3
4. Nick Szczurek (EU) def. Gary Parizher (WASHU), 6-3, 6-3
5. Simon LaPerusse (EU) def. Bryan Haywood (WASHU), 4-6, 6-3, 10-5
6. Kareem Farah (WASHU) def. Eric Rothschild (EU), 6-7 [2], 6-2, 10-8


For complete results and event information, visit www.itatennis.com.


Additional Information