2012 ITA All-Tournament Team Announced for ITA National Men’s Team Indoor Championship

2012 DI MTI logo

2012 ITA All-Tournament Team Announced for ITA National Men’s Team Indoor Championship
USC’s Steve Johnson named Most Outstanding Player

SKILLMAN, N.J. – Despite not being able to finish his first two singles matches of the tournament, USC senior Steve Johnson was named the Most Outstanding Player of the 2012 ITA National Men’s Team Indoor CUSC's Steve Johnsonhampionship. Johnson was able to collect a pair of wins at the first singles spot over players in the top 25 of the Campbell/ITA College Tennis Rankings to help the Trojans claim their first ITA National Men’s Team Indoor crown since 1988.

After having his match stopped at match point in the opening round against Tennessee’s Mikelis Libietis, Johnson was up a set against Duke’s Henrique Cunha, ranked No. 2 in the Campbell/ITA College Tennis Singles Rankings, before that match was abandoned as well. He was finally able to complete a match in the semifinals against Georgia, providing the clinching victory for USC by defeating No. 21 Sadio Doumbia 6-4, 7-5 to move his team into the championship match.

The Trojan senior also came up big in the title match against Ohio State. With the overall match score tied at 2-2, Johnson was able to close out a 6-3, 6-4 triumph over No. 16 Chase Buchanan to put USC back in front.

Johnson is joined on the ITA All-Tournament Team by the following players and doubles tandems:

No. 1 – Steve Johnson, USC
No. 2 – Blaz Rola, Ohio State
No. 3 – Daniel Nguyen, USC
No. 4 – Emilio Gomez, USC
No. 5 – Yannick Hanfmann, USC
No. 6 – Nathan Pasha, Georgia

No. 1 – Bradley Klahn/Ryan Thacher, Stanford
No. 2 – Daniel Nguyen/Ray Sarmiento, USC
No. 3 – Peter Kobelt/Connor Smith, Ohio State

This is the fifth annual ITA National Men's Team Indoor All-Tournament Team. Voters included the head coaches from the 16 participating teams. This marks the first year that a University of Virginia player was not named the Most Outstanding Player of the tournament. Somdev Devvarman was honored with the team tournament's first ever top individual award in 2008. Sanam Singh (2009), Michael Shabaz (2010), and Alex Domijan (2011) also earned Most Outstanding Player for the Cavaliers.

Additional Information