2013 ITA All-Tournament Team announced for ITA National Men's Team Indoor Championship

2013 MTI Logo

2013 ITA All-Tournament Team announced for ITA National Men's Team Indoor Championship
Virginia's Alex Domijan voted Most Outstanding Player

SKILLMAN, NJ (Feb. 22) – For the second time in his three year collegiate career, Alex Domijan of the University of Virginia has been selected as the Most Outstanding Player of the 2013 ITA National Men’s Team Indoor Championship after leading the Cavaliers to their fifth ITA National Indoor title in the last six years.   As the 2013 Most Outstanding Player, Domijan becomes the first player, male or female, to earn multiple Most Outstanding Player honors.  

Virginia's Alex Domijan went a perfect 4-0 in singles play, taking down
three players ranked inside the Top 15. 

Domijan opened singles play with a dominant performance against Washington’s Marton Bots, winning 6-2, 6-0.  He then pieced together three consecutive wins against players ranked in the Top 15 of the ITA College Tennis Rankings, including No. 15 Michael Redlicki of Duke, No. 10 Emilio Gomez of USC, and No. 2 Peter Kobelt of Ohio State. 

Of all his wins, none were bigger than his inspiring three set win over Kobelt in the semifinals.  In a battle between the nation’s top two players, and arguably two biggest hitters, Domijan delivered a clutch performance as he pulled out a tight three setter to propel Virginia into the championship match.   

This is the sixth annual ITA National Men's Team Indoor All-Tournament Team. Voters included the head coaches from the 16 participating teams.  Virginia’s Somdev Devvarman was honored as the tournament's first ever Most Outstanding Player in 2008. Then, Virginia’s Sanam Singh (2009), Michael Shabaz (2010) and Alex Domijan (2011) won the award.  USC’s Steve Johnson was selected as the Most Outstanding Player at last year’s event, becoming the first non-Virginia player to earn the award. 

Domijan is joined on the ITA All-Tournament Team by the following singles players and doubles pairs:

No. 1 – Blaz Rola, Ohio State
No. 2 – Alex Domijan, Virginia 
No. 3 – Mitchell Frank, Virginia 
No. 4 – Yannick Hanfmann, USC
No. 5 – Clay Thompson, UCLA
No. 6 – Eric Johnson, USC

No. 1 – Finn Tearney/Francis Alcantara, Pepperdine
No. 2 – Garrett Brasseaux/Nathan Pasha, Georgia 
No. 3 – Blaz Rola/Kevin Metka, Ohio State

Additional Information