> ITA Tennis Homepage > About ITA > News > Emory And Chicago Set To Play For 2016 Division III Men’s National Team Indoor Championship Title

Day Two Graphic

The 2016 ITA Division III Men’s National Team Indoor Championship will be a University Athletic Association showdown as five-time champion Emory will face first-time finalist Chicago in the final match on Sunday at the Cleveland Racquet Club in Cleveland, Ohio.

(3) Emory def. (7) Carnegie Mellon, 6-3
Emory, ranked fifth nationally, earned its spot in the championship after taking out eleventh-ranked Carnegie Mellon 6-3 in the semifinals.

The Eagles trailed the Tartans to start the day after dropping doubles matches at the No. 1 and No. 2 spots, but quickly turned things around in singles and posted five consecutive victories to clinch the win. Behind Emory’s singles success was No. 2 Rafe Mosetick, No. 16 Jonathan Jemison, Aman Manji, Andrew Bouchet, and Josh Goodman.

CMU pulled through with a singles win in the No. 6 spot as Chaz Downing upset No. 35 Andrew Harrington in a three-set battle, 6-2, 2-6, 10-2.

Quick Hits
Season Record: 3-2  
- The Eagles hold the most #ITAIndoors National Team titles winning the championship in 2004, 2005, 2009, 2011, and 2012
- The Eagles were finalists in 2001, 2003, 2013 making this year the ninth time that Emory will be competing in the final match since the tournament inaugurated in 2001
- Emory has three ranked singles players and two ranked doubles teams
No. 1 Rafe Mosetick
No. 16 Jonathan Jemison
No. 35 Andrew Harrington
No. 16 Jonathan Jemison/Adrien Bouchet
No. 23 Rafe Mosetick/Matthew Erdman

(4) Chicago def. (8) Case Western, 7-2
The sixth-ranked Chicago Maroons advanced to their first-ever #ITAIndoors championship match after defeating host school Case Western 7-2 in semifinals play.

The No. 8 seed Spartans brought plenty of suspense to the match as they looked to claim their second upset win of the weekend, but the No. 4 seed Maroons held strong to pull off the victory.

Chicago started the day with a 2-1 lead after picking up victories in the No. 1 and No. 2 doubles spots and went on to carry the momentum into singles play claiming five of the six match-ups. Sven Kranz, Charlie Pei, Peter Leung, No. 36 David Liu, and No. 17 Max Liu contributed the singles wins for the Maroons.

The Spartan’s performance was highlighted by No. 26 CJ Krimball’s two-set victory over No. 6 Nicolas Chua in the No. 1 spot; 6-1, 6-4.

Quick Hits
Season Record: 7-0
- Chicago was a 2015 NCAA Team Championship semifinalist
- Chicago has four ranked singles players and one ranked doubles team  
No. 6 Nicolas Chua
No. 17 Max Liu
No. 29 Luke Tsai
No. 36 David Liu
No. 2 Nicolas Chua/David Liu

Sunday’s championship match starts at 9 a.m. ET. Head to the Division III Men’s #ITAIndoors event page for complete schedules, draws, and live scoring links. Follow along with the conversation on the ITA TwitterFacebook, and Instagram accounts.

About the ITA Division III National Men's Team Indoor Championship
The ITA Division III National Men's Team Indoor Championship is held annually each February. The men's event began in 2001 and will be held for the 16th time in 2016. The event features eight participating teams and is held over three days, beginning on Friday with the quarterfinals, followed by semifinals on Saturday and the final on Sunday. Four different schools have hosted the event, while Emory (5), Gustavus Adolphus (4), UC Santa Cruz (3), Kenyon (1), Washington-St. Louis (1) and Trinity (TX) (1) are past champions.