> ITA Tennis Homepage > About ITA > News > ITA Men's And Women's All-American Championships Set To Get Underway

All-American Preview Header-2017-09-29

TEMPE, Ariz. –
With the Riviera Tennis Club and University of Tulsa once again serving as host sites, the ITA Men’s and Women’s All-American Championships are set to get underway on Saturday with pre-qualifying singles and doubles.

For the 33rd consecutive year, the Riviera Tennis Club in Pacific Palisades, California, invites the nation’s top Division I women’s players to compete in the Riviera/ITA Women’s All-American Championships. Pre-qualifying matches will be contested at Pepperdine University, with Riviera Tennis Club holding qualifying and main draw matches. Qualifying singles and doubles are set for October 3-4, with the main draw running from October 5-8.

The University of Tulsa is hosting the Saint Francis Health System ITA Men’s All-American Championship for the 13th straight season, with matches taking place on the courts of the Michael D. Case Tennis Center. Qualifying singles and doubles will be held October 2-3, with main draw matches transpiring between October 5-9.

In addition to vying for the All-American national title, players will be competing to secure a berth into the 2017 Oracle ITA National Fall Championships, which takes place November 1-5, in Palm Desert, California. Singles quarterfinalists, consolation singles champion and finalist, along with doubles semifinalists and consolation doubles champion and finalist advance to the end of fall national championship.

For updates draws, schedules, live scoring, live streaming (Tulsa only) daily recaps and photo gallery links, visit the Riviera/ITA Women’s All-American Championships and Saint Francis Health System ITA Men’s All-American Championships event pages. You can also follow event coverage on the ITA Twitter and Instagram channels at @ITA_Tennis.

Women’s Notes
-Notable former winners include Danielle Collins (2015, Virginia); Jamie Loeb (2013, North Carolina); Nicole Gibbs (2011 doubles, Stanford); Irina Falconi (2009 singles and 2008 doubles, Georgia Tech); Raquel Kops-Jones (2003, California) and Jill Craybas (1995, Florida).

-A Pac-12 representative has won five of the last seven doubles titles.

-Suzi Babos (2006-07, California); Zuzana Lesenarova (1998-99, San Diego); Paloma Collantes (1991-92, Ole Miss) and Sandra Birch (1989-1990, Stanford) are the only repeat winners in Women’s All-American history.

-Hillary Barte (2010, Stanford); Jessica Lehnhoff (2001, Florida); Zuzana Lesenarova (1999, San Diego) and Sandra Birch (1990, Stanford) won the singles and doubles championships in the same year.

Men’s Notes
-A player from the ACC has won the Saint Francis ITA Men’s All-American Singles Championship in each of the past seven years. Petros Chrysochos of Wake Forest won the 2016 event.

-Notable past winners of the Saint Francis ITA Men’s All-American Singles Championship include: John Isner (Georgia, 2005); James Blake (Harvard, 1998); Bob Bryan (Stanford, 1997) and MaliVai Washington (Michigan, 1988). Al Parker (Georgia, 1989-90) is the only back-to-back singles champion in Saint Francis ITA Men’s All-American Championship history.

-A doubles team from the SEC has won 6 of the past 12 Saint Francis ITA Men’s All-American Championship titles, including three of the last five. Mikelis Libietis and Hunter Reese (Tennessee, 2013-14) are the only back-to-back doubles champion in Saint Francis ITA Men’s All-American Championship history.

-Stanford has won the most men’s singles titles with six, followed by Georgia and Virginia with five apiece. Tennessee has won the most men’s doubles titles with five, followed by UCLA with three.