> ITA Tennis Homepage > Awards > All-Star Team > 2003 All-Star Team
ITA Collegiate All-Star Team, presented by The Nick Bollettieri Tennis Academy, honored at historic West Side Tennis Club August 22

The 2003 Intercollegiate Tennis Association (ITA) All-Star Team, presented by The Nick Bollettieri Tennis Academy, was honored on August 22 at the West Side Tennis Club in Forest Hills, N.Y.

This 20th edition of the ITA Collegiate All-Star Team includes the nation's top-ranked men's and women's tennis players at the NCAA Divisions I, II and III, NAIA and NJCAA levels, as well as champions from the 2002 ITA National Intercollegiate Indoor Championships and 2003 NCAA Championships. This year's ITA/Arthur Ashe Leadership and Sportsmanship Award, presented by Mont Blanc, recipients - Trevor Smith of Princeton and Kristen Stubbs of Virginia Tech - were also honored at the event.

The ITA Collegiate All-Star Team was treated by the ITA and The Nick Bollettieri Tennis Academy to a weekend in New York, highlighted by the Aug. 22 activities at the West Side Tennis Club, site of the U.S. Open until 1977. Following a breakfast at West Side, the ITA All-Stars participated in doubles play with guests and were then be honored at a special luncheon and presented their awards. Nick Bollettieri was hand for the awards ceremony. The legendary Bollettieri founded his world famous tennis academy in 1978 and has coached many of the top players including Andre Agassi, Monica Seles, Tommy Haas, Jim Courier and Anna Kournikova.

2003 ITA National Players of the Year Amer Delic of Illinois and Amber Liu of Stanford highlight this year's ceremonies. Delic, the first player from a Big Ten school to be named ITA National Player of the Year since Michigan's MaliVai Washington in 1989, captured the NCAA singles title in May. He also reached the singles final in the two other national tournaments this season, the Icy Hot/ITA All-American Championships and ITA National Indoor Championships, and helped lead Illinois to a 32-0 season and its first NCAA team title. Liu is the eighth Stanford women's player to receive this award. Liu, who was also named ITA National Rookie of the Year, captured the NCAA singles title as a freshman in May. She also led the Cardinals to the NCAA team final.

Joining Delic on the men's team are: Richard Barker of Rice, William Barker of Rice, Eric Butorac of Gustavus Adolphus, Benedikt Dorsch of Baylor, Sam Fletcher of Azusa Pacific, Jan Krejci of BYU-Hawaii, Scott Lipsky of Stanford, Lucas Melero of Georgia Perimeter, David Martin of Stanford, Rajeev Ram of Illinois, Bobby Reynolds of Vanderbilt and Brian Wilson of Illinois.

Joining Liu on the women's team are: Tetyana Bula of Barton County Comm. College, Vilmarie Castellvi of Tennessee, Agata Cioroch of Georgia, Christina Fusano of California, Mary Ellen Gordon of Emory, Lori Grey of Georgia, Adrienn Hegedus of BYU-Hawaii, Olga Hlushchanka of Vanguard, Raquel Kops-Jones of California, Jenny Kuhn of Tulane, Julie Smekodub of Tulane and Radka Sottova of Broward Comm. College.

The ITA has selected an All-Star Team since 1984. Recent players honored include: Bea Bielik, James Blake, Bob and Mike Bryan, Laura Granville, Marissa Irvin, Alex Kim, Jeff Morrison and Brian Vahaly.

This year's official event sponsors are: Tennis Week magazine (media sponsor), Polo Tennis, Radisson Lexington Hotel New York, Foot Locker Foundation, Inc., Havensure, and North Fork Bank.