> ITA Tennis Homepage > Awards > All-Star Team > 2007 All-Star Team
Top-ranked collegiate tennis players from 2007, ITA/Arthur Ashe Award winners to be honored this weekend in New York

SKILLMAN, N.J. - The 2007 Intercollegiate Tennis Association (ITA) All-Star Team, which includes the nation's top-ranked players from this past season, and ITA/Arthur Ashe Jr. Leadership and Sportsmanship Award winners will be treated by the ITA and United States Tennis Association (USTA) to a weekend in New York, highlighted by activities this Saturday at the USTA Billie Jean King National Tennis Center.

These remarkable student-athletes will be recognized during a luncheon on Saturday, August 25 in the USTA President's Suite during Arthur Ashe Kids' Day presented by Hess. USTA President Jane Brown Grimes, ITA Executive Director David A Benjamin and David Dinkins, former Mayor of New York City and a member of the USTA Board of Directors, will be on hand to present the awards. Later in the day the group will have a behind-the-scenes tour of the US Open facilities as well as a private reception in New York City that evening.

This 24th edition of the ITA Collegiate All-Star Team includes the nation's top-ranked men's and women's tennis players from the season-ending Fila Collegiate Tennis Rankings at the NCAA Divisions I, II and III, NAIA and NJCAA levels, as well as champions from the 2006 ITA National Intercollegiate Indoor Championships and 2007 NCAA Championships. Highlighting this year's team are ITA National Players of the Year Somdev Devvarman of Virginia and Audra Cohen of Miami (Fla.). Two team members – Cohen and Georgia's John Isner – will be competing in the main draw at next week's US Open.

This year's women's ITA All-Stars are: Sara Andundsen of North Carolina, Liz Bondi of DePauw, Ana Cetnik of TCU, Audra Cohen of Miami, Megan Falcon of LSU, Jenna Long of North Carolina, Megan Moulton-Levy of William & Mary, Lindsey Nelson of USC, Jelena Pandzik of Fresno Pacific, Kasia Siwosz of Cowley County, Iuliia Stupak of Armstrong Atlantic State, Anna Sydorska of TCU and Katarina Zoricic of William & Mary.

The ITA men's All-Stars are: Marco Born of Middle Tennessee, Lorenzo Cava of Lynn, Gwen Corchers of Laredo, Somdev Devvarman of Virginia, Luis Flores of Georgia, Mislav Hizak of Embry-Riddle, Treat Huey of Virginia, John Isner of Georgia, Ben Kohlloeffel of UCLA, Matt Seeberger of UC Santa Cruz and Andreas Siljestrom of Middle Tennessee.

The ITA has selected its All-Star Team since 1984. Past honorees include current pros: James Blake, Bob and Mike Bryan, Jill Craybas, Amer Delic, Justin Gimelstob, Paul Goldstein, Laura Granville, Kevin Kim, Lilia Osterloh, Lisa Raymond and Mike Russell.

For the first time this year all 12 of the national winners of the ITA/Arthur Ashe, Jr. National Leadership and Sportsmanship Awards will be honored at the same site. This award which dates back to 1984, goes to NCAA Divisions I, II and III, NAIA and JuCo men's and women's players who have exhibited outstanding sportsmanship and leadership as well as scholastic, extracurricular and tennis achievements. Receiving the awards will be: Danny Bryan of LSU, Thomas Dohlman of MIT, Lindsey Fischer of Indianapolis, Hizak from Embry-Riddle, Jennifer Le of Oklahoma Christian, Moulton-Levy of William & Mary, Katy Nethery of San Diego City College, Dustin Phillips of Tyler Junior College, Daniel Pollock of Hawaii-Hilo, Laura Stein of Amherst, Maya Vankineni of Oxford College of Emory and Clint Walder of Riverside Community College. The award winners will also be recognized on August 26 with the Arthur Ashe Essay Contest winners during a luncheon at the NTC hosted by Dinkins.

This year's ITA/Ashe Award winners are a diversified and dynamic group that includes 4.0 students and honor society members, nationally-ranked players, two-sport athletes and conference champions, all of whom are actively involved in their community. MIT's Dolman created the Smile Train Charity Tennis Tournament, an event to help raise funds and awareness for cleft lip and cleft palate research and treatment. Stein, who plays at Amherst, has been recognized by the Massachusetts Senate and House of Representatives, continues to work with Tennis for Fun, a community service organization she started her sophomore year of high school, which runs weekly tennis programs for mentally handicapped adults. And Moulton-Levy, who becomes the first two-time recipient in the history of the Division I women's award, helped develop a program called "Girls Sports Power," which provides area children with an avenue and information on how to get involved in sports, and provides them with a safe place to learn and try new things.

Presented by Hess and produced by the USTA, Arthur Ashe Kids' Day honors tennis legend Arthur Ashe and continues his mission of using tennis as a means to instill in kids the values of humanitarianism, leadership and academic excellence.