> ITA Tennis Homepage > Awards > All-Star Team > 2008 All-Star Team


ITA/Arthur Ashe, Jr. Award winners and the ITA All-Star Team were honored
during a special awards luncheon hosted by the USTA during Arthur Ashe Kids’ Day.


SKILLMAN, N.J. – The 2008 ITA/Arthur Ashe, Jr. Leadership and Sportsmanship Award winners and the Intercollegiate Tennis Association (ITA) All-Star Team, which features the nation's top-ranked men’s and women’s varsity players from the 2008 season were treated by the ITA and United States Tennis Association (USTA) to a weekend in New York, highlighted by activities during Arthur Ashe Kids' Day at the USTA Billie Jean King National Tennis Center.

These remarkable student-athletes were honored during a luncheon in the USTA President's Suite during Arthur Ashe Kids' Day presented by Hess. USTA President Jane Brown Grimes, ITA Executive Director David A Benjamin and David Dinkins, former Mayor of New York City and a member of the USTA Board of Directors, were among those on hand to present the awards.

This 25th edition of the ITA Collegiate All-Star Team includes the nation's top-ranked men's and women's tennis players from the season-ending ITA Collegiate Tennis Rankings at the NCAA Divisions I, II and III, NAIA and JuCo levels, as well as champions from the 2007 ITA National Intercollegiate Indoor Championships and 2008 NCAA Championships. Highlighting this year's team were ITA National Players of the Year Somdev Devvarman of Virginia and Amanda McDowell of Georgia Tech.

Along with Devvarman, the other men's ITA All-Stars honored were: Jonas Berg of Mississippi, Robert Farah of Southern California, Michael Greenberg of Kenyon (Ohio), Alex Grubin of Concordia (N.Y.), Travis Helgeson of Georgia, Mislav Hizak of Embry-Riddle (Fla.), Treat Huey of Virginia, Oleksandr Nedovyesov of Oklahoma State, Erling Tveit of Mississippi and Kaes Van't Hof of Southern California.

The following ITA women's All-Stars joined McDowell: Brook Buck of Notre Dame, Siobhan Finicane of Pomona-Pitzer (Calif.), Melanie Gloria of Fresno State, Monika Lalewicz of Abraham Baldwin (Ga.), Tracy Lin of UCLA, McDowell of Georgia Tech, Ani Mijacika of Clemson, Aurelija Miseviciute of Arkansas, Tinesta Rowe of Fresno State, Moacir Santos of Laredo (Texas), Delia Sescioreanu of Auburn-Montgomery (Ala.), Iuliia Stupak of Armstrong Atlantic State (Ga.), Kelcy Tefft of Notre Dame and Riza Zalameda of UCLA.

The national winners of the ITA/Arthur Ashe, Jr. Leadership and Sportsmanship Awards were also honored. This award which also dates back to 1984, is given to NCAA Divisions I, II and III, NAIA and JuCo men's and women's players who have exhibited outstanding sportsmanship and leadership as well as scholastic, humanitarian and tennis achievements. 2008 recipients include Shefat Baishakhi of Lewis-Clark State (Idaho), William Blake Sherman of Meridian (Ala.), Jonathan Bowman of Point Loma Nazarene (Calif.), Trish Devine of Wellesley (Mass.), Dan Gal of Bloomsburg (Pa.), Natalie Kelley of Santa Monica (Calif.), Kristi Miller of Georgia Tech, Kelly Nugent of Bentley (Mass.), Lars Poerschke of Baylor and Josh Williams of Wheaton (Ill.).

The ITA/Arthur Ashe Jr., national award winners were also invited as guests to the NJTL Arthur Ashe Essay Contest awards luncheon on Sunday at the Billie Jean King National Tennis Center hosted by David Dinkins, 106th Mayor of New York City and USTA Board Liaison to the National Junior Tennis League (NJTL) Committee. Mayor Dinkins presented each winner with a plaque for their efforts and recognition of Arthur Ashe.

The Arthur Ashe Essay Contest is a national essay contest asking entrants to answer the question "How do you exemplify the ideals of Arthur Ashe?" Each year 10 national winners (aged 10-18) and their chaperones receive an all-expense paid weekend to New York City to be guests at Arthur Ashe Kids' Day, a Broadway show (The Lion King), a baseball game, and other fun cultural activities.