> ITA Tennis Homepage > Awards > All-Star Team > 2013 All-Star Team

2013 All-Star Team and Ashe winners
ITA/Arthur Ashe, Jr. Leadership & Sportsmanship Award winners and
the ITA All-Star Team were honored during a special awards luncheon

Hosted by the USTA during Arthur Ashe Kids' Day

Photo Gallery of Event

College tennis’ best honored at ITA Awards Luncheon at the USTA Billie Jean King National Tennis Center

FLUSHING MEADOWS, NY – College tennis was celebrated during Arthur Ashe Kids’ Day as the Intercollegiate Tennis Association (ITA) recognized recipients of the 2013 ITA Arthur Ashe Jr. National Leadership and Sportsmanship Awards along with the 2013 ITA Collegiate All-Star Team at the ITA Awards Luncheon hosted by the United States Tennis Association (USTA). 

The presentation took place Saturday morning in the President’s Suite Dining Room as part of Arthur Ashe Kids' Day activities (Aug. 24) at the USTA Billie Jean King National Tennis Center in Flushing Meadows, NY.  Dave Haggerty, Chairman of the Board and President of the USTA, David A Benjamin, ITA Executive Director, and David Dinkins, former Mayor of New York City and Katrina Adams, USTA First Vice President, were on hand to present the awards.

The award winners were treated to a special awards luncheon and after receiving their awards, the collegians enjoyed Arthur Ashe Kids’ Day from the USTA President’s Box. This year’s excitement included a special appearance by First Lady Michelle Obama as well as tennis stars Serena Williams, Rafael Nadal and Roger Federer.

Two ITA award winners, Jarmere Jenkins of Virginia and Hannah Dake from the United States Air Force Academy, participated in Arthur Ashe Kids’ Day, serving as ball feeders during pre-show activities involving children from National Junior Tennis and Learning (NJTL). Jenkins himself is a former NJTL player from the Atlanta Chapter.

Prior to the luncheon, many of the All-Star team and Arthur Ashe Jr. Award winners watched current and former collegiate players participate in a special exhibition organized by Eric Butorac, a former NCAA III singles and doubles champion at Gustavus Adolphus. A number of ATP World Tour pros who were collegiate players took part in the exhibition, including James Blake, Steve Johnson and Bobby Reynolds, as well as Jenkins and his partner Mac Styslinger, the current NCAA Doubles Champions from Virginia.

2013 Ashe and NJTL winners

2013 Annual ITA/Arthur Ashe Jr. National Leadership and Sportsmanship
Award winners with national winners of the NJTL Arthur Ashe Essay Contest

ITA All-Star team honorees in attendance were: Jarmere Jenkins, Virginia; Mikelis Libietis, Tennessee; Henrique Cunha/Raphael Hemmeler, Duke; Jarmere Jenkins/Mac Styslinger, Virginia;  Mikelis Libietis/Hunter Reese, Tennessee; Matus Mydla, Armstrong Atlantic; Adam Putterman, Wash U-St. Louis; and Adrien Berkowicz, Tyler Junior College; Robin Anderson, UCLA; Nicole Gibbs, Stanford; Kaitlyn Christian/Sabrina Santamaria, USC; Alexa Guarachi/Mary Anne Macfarlane, Alabama. ITA All-Stars unable to attend were:  Nicolas Pinones, Auburn Montgomery; Lauren Embree, Florida; Kate Fuller/Silvia Garcia, Georgia; Annie Hwang, BYU-Hawaii; Lok-Sze Leung, Middlebury;  Jade Curtis, Auburn Montgomery and Esther Zuniga, Florida State College-Jacksonville.

2013 All-Star Flipcard Front

The 30th ITA Collegiate All-Star Team includes the nation's top-ranked men's and women's players from the year-end ITA College Tennis Rankings at the NCAA Divisions I, II and III, NAIA and NJCAA levels, as well as winners of the 2012 USTA/ITA National Indoor Intercollegiate Championships and 2013 NCAA Division I Championships.

The 2013 Annual ITA/Arthur Ashe Jr.  National Leadership and Sportsmanship Award winners were: Henrique Cunha, Duke University; Hannah Dake, United States Air Force Academy; Luke Joyce, Midwestern State; Paige Frost, Stonehill College; Erick DelaFuente, Trinity University (TX); Katie Cecil, Carnegie Mellon University; Alex Tarnow, Cornerstone University; Ashlan Allison, Olivet Nazarene University; Brandon Wolf, Harford Community College; and Tara-Beth Hall, Meridian Community College.

2013 All-Star Flipcard Back

The ITA/Arthur Ashe Jr. National Leadership and Sportsmanship Awards take into account a player’s tennis accomplishments, scholastic achievements and extracurricular endeavors, recognizing players who excel on and off the court during their college careers.

The day after the ITA Awards Luncheon, the ITA/Arthur Ashe Jr. National Leadership and Sportsmanship winners were invited to the NJTL luncheon honoring the national winners of the NJTL Arthur Ashe Essay Contest. The collegians shared his or her education experiences with the NJTL kids and their parents, and each Ashe collegiate honoree gave their collegiate t-shirt as a gift to the NJTL contest winners.

Past ITA All-Star Teams

2003 All-Star Team

2004 All-Star Team

2005 All-Star Team

2006 All-Star Team

2007 All-Star Team

2008 All-Star Team

2009 All-Star Team
& Outing

2010 All-Star Team 

2011 All-Star Team

 2012 All-Star Team