> ITA Tennis Homepage > Events > ITA National Championships > DI Women's Team Indoors > 2012 ITA WTI All-Tournament Team

2012 DI WTI logo

2012 ITA All-Tournament Team Announced for ITA National Women’s Team Indoor Championship
UCLA’s Robin Anderson voted Most Outstanding Player


SKILLMAN, N.J. – UCLA rookie Robin Anderson has been named the Most Outstanding Player of the 2012 ITA National Women’s Team Indoor Championship, hosted by the University of Virginia at the Boar’s Head Sports Club in Charlottesville, Va. Anderson posted a 3-0 record at the top singles position, helping the Bruins to claim their first ever title at the ITA National Women’s Team Indoor Championship.

Robin Anderson MOPAnderson opened the tournament with a 6-4, 6-4 victory against Georgia Tech’s Jillian O’Neill, as the Bruins defeated the Yellow Jackets 4-2 to move on to the quarterfinals. The Bruin freshman came up with her most impressive match against Northwestern, not surrendering a game in a 6-0, 6-0 triumph over Kate Turvy. UCLA faced off with cross-town rival USC in the semifinals, where Anderson held a 4-2 lead in the final set against fellow freshman Zoe Scandalis when the match was abandoned.

In the championship match, Anderson found herself up against another stellar rookie, Beatrice Capra of Duke. She had lost to Capra just a few months prior in a three setter at the 2011 USTA/ITA National Indoor Intercollegiate Championships, but managed to take her revenge in Charlottesville. Anderson cruised through the first set 6-1, but Capra fought back to take the second 6-3. With the Bruins leading the overall match 3-0, Anderson delivered the clinching victory by winning the final set 6-2.

Anderson is joined on the ITA All-Tournament Team by the following players and doubles pairs:


No. 1 – Robin Anderson, UCLA

No. 2 – Zsofi Susanyi, California

No. 3 – Ester Goldfeld, Duke

No. 4 – Skylar Morton, UCLA

No. 5 – Kaitlin Ray, UCLA

No. 6 – Chanelle Van Nguyen, UCLA


No. 1 – Emina Bektas/Brooke Bolender, Michigan

No. 2 – Beatrice Capra/Rachel Kahan, Duke

No. 3 – Lilly Kimbell/Maho Kowase, Georgia

This is the fifth annual ITA National Women’s Team Indoor All-Tournament Team. Voters included the head coaches from the 16 participating teams. Georgia Tech’s Kirsten Flower was named the first ever Most Outstanding Player of the event in 2008. Georgia’s Chelsey Gullickson earned the award in 2009, with Northwestern’s Maria Mosolova receiving the honor in 2010. Last year’s honoree was Stanford senior Hilary Barte.